Saturday, March 27, 2010

Week 9

I read for about 3 hours this week and finished reading Eclipse. In my reading, Bella realized she loved Edward and Jacob. I was beginning to get frustrated with her. I thought she should have just told Jacob that Edward was "the one" for her and spare him the run around. Instead, she kissed him and admitted that she loved him. That just makes things harder for everyone. I also read about the the fight with the newborn vampires. It was so intense! I was reading and began to tense up and get worried. Then Jacob got hurt and i didn't know anything else. I didn't know if he lived or died and it really freaked me out. I figured there was no way they would have killed him off, but at the time I was still a little worried. I am really excited that Bella agreed to marry Edward, but i hope she doesn't back out. I thought it was really sweet that he gave her his mother's ring. He has a ton of money and could have gone and bought a ring, but it is more meaningful for him to give her his mother's. I am really curious how Charlie and Renee are going to react to this engagement. I can't start reading Breaking Dawn so I can hopefully find out!

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Week 8

I am almost finished with the Eclipse, but not quite there yet. This week's reading habits were a lot different than my usual reading habits. Usually, I have free time during the day and I just read and read. This week it seemed as though there wasn't any spare time to read so I did all of my reading at night before bed. I read right at 90 minutes this week. That is not much for me compared to other weeks. I like reading for hours at a time, because I get so wrapped up in the book. I just couldn't manage to do that this week. Reading right before bed also made me have crazy dreams! One night I was reading and I left off on the part where the werewolves and the Cullens are planning their fight with the newborns. That night I dreamed about vampires and werewolves fighting newborn vampires. I have no idea what the newborns look like, but I dreamed they were nasty and dirty. Their clothes were rags and they looked so evil. In my dream the vampires fighting the newborns were not the Cullens though. They were my friends and family. It was so weird! I woke up in the middle of the night several times , but as soon as I went back to sleep I was dreaming about it again. I wasn't really scared when I woke up in the middle of the night, just a little weirded out.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Week 7

I completely forgot to post my blog for last week! The beginning of Spring break has already been pretty busy and it just slipped my mind. I did read a lot last week though. I started on Eclipse and am already over halfway through the book. I read for more hours than I can count! I only read Monday, Tuesday, and a little on Wednesday. The end of the week became very busy so I didn't get any reading in. I am guessing I will finishr the book by the end of this week, but not certain. I am working over break and when I get home i am always so tired. That job seriously just sucks the energy out of me! This book is so much better for me than the other two. The other two books I watched the movie before I read the books, so I already had an idea of what was coming up on the book. This book is completely new for me so it makes me want to keep reading even more just to see what is going to happen. Bella is sort of making me mad in this book. I don't like how she goes to see Jacob and holds his hand and stuff when she is with Edward. I think she just needs to make up her mind which one she wants already. This book is also a lot more mysterious than the other two. Someone was in Bella's room and took some of her stuff, but they still don't know who. I am very curious who it was. The Cullen's are also dealing with the idea of fighting some young vampires so that the Volturi doesn't come. I really want to keep reading to see what happens. I get so wrapped up in the book, that just reading about the possibilities of the fight I get all tense. Today is my day off so maybe I should get started on reading and maybe I will get it finished this week.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Week 6

I read for several hours this week and finished reading Oryx and Crake. I didn't think I liked the book at first, but once everything was revealed it was a lot better. It was so confusing and I couldn't figure out why Jimmy was the only human left, only he wasnt really the only human. All of this became clear towards the end of the book. Speaking of the ending, I hated it! It totally left me hanging. He found these other three humans and is trying to decide what to do, but the book ends and you don't find out what he did. Does he kill them? Do they share stories? I don't like when book ends that way. There is a sequel to it, so I might read it just to see if it says what he decided to do. I'm not really in to these kind of futuristic, science type books, but the way Margaret Atwood structures the story, it left me wanting to know more. It frustrates me to not understand what is going on, but I don't think I could have read it if it didn't leave me curious. Oh and I was so mad that Crake killed Oryx! He slit her throat right there in front of Jimmy, so Jimmy shot him. I was rooting for Oryx and Jimmy, not Oryx and Crake. Crake was a horrible man. He released the plague on purpose and left Jimmy all alone with the Crakers. The only good thing he did was give Jimmy the vaccine to prevent him from getting the plague. I really liked the stories that Jimmy came up with to tell the Crakers. He was very creative about them. The part about Oryx laying two eggs, one with animals and one with words, was confusing to me until I realized it was just a story he told them. If I were in his place I would not know what to tell the Crakers about anything. I am very excited to be done with this book so I can start on Eclipse!